Equal Justice

Center Head

Kelsea Jeon - JE '20

Kelsea is a sophomore in Jonathan Edwards College from Los Angeles, California. She is currently a prospective Ethics, Politics, and Economics major, with interests in race relations and immigration. Outside of Roosevelt, she is involved with the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Project. In her spare time, she enjoys reading fiction novels, watching New Girl, latte-sipping at Willoughby’s, and going on spontaneous Zipcar adventures.

 

Center Members:

Annie Roberts (annie.roberts@yale.edu)

Vanessa Zhang (vanessa.zhang@yale.edu)

Daniel Onuoha (daniel.onuoha@yale.edu)

Benjamin Waldman (benjamin.waldman@yale.edu)

Jiaxuan (Sophia) Wang (jiaxuan.wang@yale.edu)

Abigail Leonard (abby.leonard@yale.edu)

Andrew Bilodeau (andrew.bilodeau@yale.edu)

Project

Homelessness in Los Angeles is at an all-time high -- a staggering 58,000 individuals -- as rent continues to increase in L.A. County. This number has the possibility of rising, as there are 580,000 people in Los Angeles County who are one emergency away from homelessness. Partnering with ThriveLA, a nonprofit working to provide homes, jobs, and communities for returning homeless veterans in Los Angeles, the Equal Justice Center seeks to further analyze the population on the brink of homelessness, understand their needs, and propose policy solutions to Los Angeles County.