INternational Development

Center Head

Anand Swaminathan - CC '19

Anand Swaminathan is a junior in Calhoun College majoring in Ethics, Politics, & Economics. In addition to the Roosevelt Institute, he is part of the Model United Nations Team at Yale (MUNTY), Yale Startup Consulting Group, and works as a College Aide. His main academic interests include economic development, foreign affairs, and philosophy. For fun, Anand enjoys spending time with friends, meditating, and exercising.

 

Center Members:

Kaan Cankat (kaan.cankat@yale.edu)

Claire Kalikman (claire.kalikman@yale.edu)

Juan Otoya Vanini (juan.otoyavanini@yale.edu)

Michael Borger (michael.borger@yale.edu)

Faith Vasquez (faith.vasquez@yale.edu)

Ian Salvamoser (ian.salvamoser@yale.edu)

Sophie Gottfried (sophie.gottfried@yale.edu)

Tan Yi Chern (yichern.tan@yale.edu)

David Edimo (david.edimo@yale.edu)

Stephanie Horsfall (stephanie.horsfall@yale.edu)

Kueho Choi (kueho.choi@yale.edu)

Ariq Hatibie (ariq.hatibie@yale.edu)

Judah Ellison (judah.ellison@yale.edu)

Farah Emory-Muhammad (farah.emory-muhammad@yale.edu)

Michael Chau (michael.chau@yale.edu)

Project

Within the International Development center this semester, we will be researching the ongoing political and economic crisis in Venezuela. Broadly, we will look into the history of Venezuela's political economy over the past few decades to chart which changes and reforms have precipitated the turmoil today. Specifically, we will study how specific commodities -- such as oil -- have determined Venezuela's economic fortune.